Shrubbery Combustion

This has been an exciting morning. First, the air temperature was a bit higher than yesterday, enough that I didn’t have to worry about the integrity of my teeth. And then I experienced a series of mental lightning strikes.

First, I received an advertising e-mail from Amazing. [Link] They were soliciting me to purchase Winders software from them.

This is not the first callously arrogant, ridiculous solicitation I have received from Amazing. They send me a weekly selection of shoes to purchase, none of which are available in my size.

But in this case, they know I use Linux because my browser tells them this when I visit their web site.

So what politician reject thought to try to sell Winders stercus-ware to a Linux user? The World Wonders.

Second, I got off on one of those evangelistic emails. This one was canny enough to evade the SPAM filters but it also gave me a few moments of rolling laughter on the floor.

Simply put, a thought occurred early on. Why is it that the Christianist bible does such an exquisite job of attributing human characteristics to the deity but never consider that the deity – if the human characteristic thing is accurate? – might have a sense of humor. Certainly observation of humanity evokes such a conjecture sine die.

Could this be an indication that organized religion is just about the organization?

Third, it also struck me how Amazing is like an organized religion. It has to be obeyed and placated with sacrifices. And it provides in return?

