Is Correct Idempotent?

Five Day. End of Week In. And thankfully. But start of Week Out. And not thankfully.

The podcast was a bit of a bore this morning. Endless yammering with some developer zealot. Not my beaker of vegetable distillate.

Earlier this week, I had luncheon with a fellow with whom I went to high schule but haven’t seen since. He was back in Huntsville because of the Irma and so we took the occasion to reacquaint.

It was difficult. He is a biologist but somehow we kept struggling to find things to talk about. At one point I was trying to talk to him about self-similarity and he admitted he knew very little about fractals. I was a bit shocked and satisfied. The shock came from his claimed ignorance since many instances of fractals are found in biological systems; the satisfaction came from my perception that biologists are mostly acalculate being upheld one more time. 

Since then I have been musing on the matter of “political correctness” since we seemed to have need f a lot of it during our repast. So I decided that I needed to go find a workable definition to wrangle with the matter.

This isn’t something that I can do using my desktop dictionary client (one of the reason Linux is better than Winders and AppleOS.) Clearly “political” + “correctness” .NE. “political correctness”. I found alot and since this is clearly a social construct, I settled on the Wikipedia definition:

“The term political correctness (adjectivally: politically correct; commonly abbreviated to PC or P.C.) is used to describe the avoidance of language or actions that are seen as excluding, marginalizing, or insulting groups of people who are seen as disadvantaged or discriminated against, especially groups defined by sex or race.”

This is quite confusing. As a minimum, this is what was labeled as “good manners” when I was a bairn. Which confirmed my supposition that this was pure social fluff. That’s not necessarily a bad thing if it keeps us from descending into Hobbesian chaos. But from what I have seen lately, it seems to be driving us towards such.

The  it occurred that since this is a social construction, it has to be influenced by what happens in society, especially in the political arena. In effect, the political arena defines political correctness.

As I examined this, I discovered that it rather accurately represented the current state of politics in Amerika. Partisan politicians avoid language to the point that they will not communicate in any fashion with members of any other party. So politics is largely a matter of might makes right. 

Additionally, every group is now seen as disadvantage and downtrodden. Everyone is Pooh. As in, alas, poor me Pooh. Everyone is discriminated against, and everyone discriminates against everyone else who is different in any observable mode: skin color; eye folds; gender (plumbing;) hair color; any aspect of appearance.

So I went and dug out an old Kingston Trio album and listened to a song with the lyric “And I don’t like anyone very much.”

So it is not politically correct to be politically correct? Is the particle it’s own antiparticle? Or its own annihilation?

