Wrong Paint

I have to admit: I don’t understand parents. And yes, I am one. And beyond that to include grandparent. But I admit that as a parent I consider myself mediocre. Which doesn’t count. All that counts is what my daughter thinks.

Parenting is like being a teacher. If a student thinks a teacher is good; that is, the student learns from that teacher; then that teacher is good. No learning, BAD Teacher. Doesn’t matter what the school system thinks. Doesn’t matter what the teacher thinks. No learn, Bad Teacher.

Parenting is the same. 

So it seems no wonder to me that I don’t understand parents. But that doesn’t keep me from trying.

I ran across an article [Link] entitled “‘Brown Is Completely Off the Table'” that talks about how parents are preventing their children from attending colleges that the parents think are politically “bad”. 

I have to admit that between the way the article is written and my difficulty understanding I am not at all sure whether the parents are concerned that the campus climate is of a political nature counter to their own or that the campus climate is antagonistic to open discussion and consideration of politics. Some parts of the article seem to indicate a Red/Blue (in the popular vernacular) political atmosphere on campus while other parts seem to be about either the administration shielding the students from some political exposure or the students preventing that exposure through protests.

(I recall the latter vividly in my own day, at least second hand. When I arrived at the Campus of the Boneyard I found the walls of the student union still besmirched with the spring occupiers’ curse words scrawled on the walls with human feces. Amazing how retentive some forms of wallpaper are.)

I tend to favor the lattermost since that was the attitude of parents when I went off to college. There was still a concern on the part of parents that their children be exposed to divergent ideas (but NOT TOO divergent) for the sake of education. Of course nothing blasphemous or evil or such like. But since most parents hadn’t gone to college. education was still a semi-substantial goal.

Today with the alienation of partisan affiliations at the level of blood feud between clans, I have to wonder which of the above is accurate and relevant. I know from talking to students that education is irrelevant to most of them. All they care about is getting a diploma. Discipline matters only in terms of money flow. Or ROI. 

Happily, there are still a few who care about education. Parents or students. And the total number of students who care about getting an education seems about the same as in my day. It’s just that the population is larger and mostly diploma hunters. Not just Greeks and Jocks like in my day, but GDIs too. Of course lots of GDIs didn’t care in my day but they didn’t count because they got free sustenance from the Yankee government after one or two terms, at least the boys, and there were more boys than girls in those days. 

But I am still taken aback by parents vetoing a college choice on political grounds. Since most colleges are liberal or tolerant and the only conservative colleges are thumper schules, doesn’t this run afoul of religious concerns? Or are such matters irrelevant these days? 

And what happened to that statistic that the majority of adults are antipathetic to partisanship? 

I am confused. And almost forced to fall back on the tried and true that almost all parents are Bogs and almost all children are Bogs and hence this sort of nonsense.

More progress on the race to be a Third World Nation.

