Dark Signal

I just read that Adam West has discorporated.[Link]

I am saddened. For me, Adam West has always been the TV Batman. 

His TV program started in the year that I graduated high schule and entered college. I only got to see his program occasionally but I enjoyed what I saw. Its humor fit rather well with that of Laugh-In and the original Star Trek. 

I didn’t get to see the Batman movie serials until years later, but I had read Batman comic books as a bairn, at least until I discovered Adam Strange and then I rather alternated between the two. Both were epitomes of superheroes, at least the comic book genre heroes, who prevailed by thought and intelligence rather than physical over-endowment. 

It seems wrong to call these fellows, most of them, heroes. They were all cast in the mold of some unhero who could make changes without harming someone or something. Rather at odds with the Classical Greek Idea of a Hero. Batman was the closest comic book character to a hero, displaying the angst and suffering of what he was compelled to do, much like Heracles after he had to destroy something wonderful to please a petty tyrant. 

That was what made Adam West and that first TV Batman so wonderful. West made a parody of the comic book superhero. And acted in a totally disrespectful fashion by aping absolute toadying respect. 

A sterling role model. 

I would wish him well decomposing but I fear they embalmed his so he will lay for years as a plastic nebish. 

But life was better because of him. 

