Information Mechanics?

Five Day. Off to gym and an episode of the “Linux Action Show.” Passable. A couple of tidbits of potentially useful.

But in and around I was exciting neurons to consider the nature of combination hoarding + sharing. In particular, books.

Why is it that we have a model where we buy books, read them, keep them even if we never read them again, and will gladly loan them out to people we trust?

Why we even pay for libraries if we can keep the politicians out of the process. Ugly people, politicians, they seem to think that the citizenry should be kept in chains and rags and ignorance except for the few who give them big contributions and must be repaid a thousandfold from the tax coffers. Irrespective of party or anything except the addiction of power.

But this isn’t about the corruption of government by its officers. It’s about what is patently a strange behavior.

I am not saying we don’t hoard other things, but we also don’t share them either. 

I am a case in point. I have lots of books. Some I have never read but bought with good intention of reading someday. Some I have read once but have no plans to read again and have no strong intention of disposing of. (Admittedly there are some books, mostly contemporary fiction that I read partly or wholly (the minority that latter,) and put in the disposal pile immediately. And let FD SCP drag off to the used bookstore to trade for bosom rippers.

But of those I keep, almost all I would gladly loan to anyone I have any inkling of being likely to be honest and return it. I might even let them keep if they asked. But not to people I have no resonance with, no feeling of trust.

Why is this. Why is information, either in form or substance, so important and precious? And why are we so avid to propagate it through the species?

The World Wonders.

