Tactile Trauma

I can remember, back when I was a young-adult, to reading a science fiction novel/novella, probable an ACE or some similar, whose central character/hero/protagonist had been raised in a fundamentalist – I forget whether religionist or naturist – enclave and now living in general society was unable to use its “advanced” technology without breaking it. 

I used to have a secondary report who was such a Komputer Klutz that we had to have three computers for him. (This was back in the DOS/early Winders days.) One on his desk, and two in or in transit to/from the shop. He was knowledgeable of computers, for someone who had to learn coding in the workplace, but never really made the transition from main frame to PC.

This is all a lead in to a rant: I Hate Touchscreens! I get bitten by them at least once a day. This morning it was my MP3 player at the gym. Used to we could buy good MP3 players that we could hack and get to do what we wanted and they had real button switches. Nowadays you can’t get MP3 players that aren’t almost useless and exorbitantly priced. This one is of this genre.

But I also get bit by my cellular telephone and my slablets. All running ANDROID which is saved from being the planet’s worst OS only by the continued existence of MegaHard and Winders.

I also am not really happy with keyboards and mice. The keyboards are expensive – Blue Switches – and between my fumble fingers and the spontaneous generation of crud under the key-caps, I get mistypes. Which I can usually – almost always – fix without a hard reboot. Similarly, my mousing dexterity is never up to what seems to being an ever decreasing pointer sweet spot on screen. And my mouse pad keeps shrinking.

But I reserve my hatred for touch screens.

