Ourside the Book

One of the mixed states of being ORF is ceasing to care about/understand certain popular things. I am told by psychologist colleagues that this is part of the decay of adaptability with age. I am a bit skeptical of this because there are many popular things I ignored – or was oblivious of – in earlier times, especially when I was in graduate school and had attention span only for school work and job work. Much to the detriment of my health. If I had waited two more years to matriculate I would likely have received the diploma post humously. 

Regardless, there are things that are popular today that I am less than interested in and unwilling to expend the effort and skull sweat to understand. The current thing with Pokemon is one example. I paid some attention to Pokemon when my daughter was young but once her attention to it waned, so did mine. 

I keep waiting to hear how these players wondered into a Klan rally or a terrorist cell meeting or a military base and were either killed or sent to Cuba. This one runs a bit deeper since I primarily see my cellular phonelet as a phone with the rest of it being accessories. And since I live in a house with a metal roof, which is a good electromagnetic shield and I get zero cellular reception there, I turn off my phonelet as soon as I enter the house. 

And I am constantly looking for apps that are half as useful as the ones I get in my desktop’s repositories. This brings up the question, Why is Android so crappy compared to real Linux? The trial answer is that it’s a mixture of Gooey mismanagement and greed and the crappy use most people put their phonelets to. Which is part of why I don’t pay attention to stuff that they do.

In another direction, what is it with coloring books? I had coloring books as a small child. Once I learned how to read – about four or five years of age – my interest died. Hard. Like a poorly made motorcar battery. Actually, not poorly made, just a lousy technology. That hasn’t improved with cosmetic “improvements”.

But why are adults interested in coloring books? Is there some unrequited aspect of their childhoods? Did they never learn to read? Or were they wrenched away from coloring books for some parent mandated activity and left unrequited? Is it reproductive in nature?

Why is Dover, the planet’s best purveyor of nerd books, now a major (?) purveyor of coloring books? Are they that close to fiscal failure? Or has their management become too legume enumerator?

I won’t even get into television programming. Too orthogonal.

