Writhing Nests

Fifth day again and the air temperature up to a reasonable temperature. So off to park for constitutional. Couldn’t help thinking as I drove over of the dismality of citizen engagement in Greater Metropolitan Arab:

  • The city government wants citizen engagement no further than rolling their rubbish bins to the kerb, and spending lots of money with merchants;
  • The city schule system wants citizen engagement no further than just giving them money; and
  • The city water board wants the citizenry to be universally afflicted with muteness, especially over their criminal activities in denying fluoridation.

Overall, a writhing nest of blackguards, thieves, and villains.

I returned from constitutional slightly chilled but overheated at the core.

I see that the DoD has once more proved itself MegaHatd’s mind slave.[Link] They have decreed that 4E6 machines have to be upgraded to WX sine die. I suspect no funding will be forthcoming to effect a speedy transfer or even the purchase of licenses so the actual implementation date will be somewhere around never.

It is occurrences such as this that make me quite happy to be retired from government service. Stupidity is always painful in DoD, especially when it comes from some political appointee whose credibility with the district is balanced only by his (or her) lack of competency. 

I have been spared much of this. FD SCP’s desktop is inadequate to run WX. The installer chokes and tells her to buy a new machine. She happily (?) ignores the annoyance. 

On a happy note, it appears that ReactOS has reached a usable level of maturity. I downloaded the latest this week and tried out the live version. Very impressive. So now I will find a old box to install on so I can see if it will support my one remaining W client that I need sometimes.

Film at Eleven.

