Why I Don’t 1

Bucket Lists. Lists of places to go before you discorporate. List of things to do before you discorporate. List of N Best Somethings.

I don’t.

Lots of people do based on people get paid to write guide books on this and they sell these books in big volume bog stores.

But I don’t.

It’s not that I don’t look at these lists. And I see what places/things on the lists I have done. And the reverse, the things/places I have done that are on the lists.

And I find, in the first instance that the things/places I have done that are on the list are, in the whelming majority, bleh places/things. I remember them for how yuh or even painful they were. This indicates to me that these lists are mostly poo and very little pony.

And I find, in the second instance, that of the things/places I have done and were uplifting and etchingly memorable, the whelming majority aren’t on the list. This supports the indication that these lists are mostly poo and very little pony.

Definitely consult the lists. Don’t buy the books if you can help it unless you can decide – however you decide – that the list is worthwhile. What you find good, adopt; what you find bleh, reject. But don’t let someone else dictate your life. Do you really want your eulogy to be that you imitated some hack author?

Of course if you’re nerd or high geek, that last was not only not you but repellent. In which case I don’t have to lecture you about being a follower only after decision. 

And when it comes to places and things to do, I value my own counsel first.

