Word States

The weather beavers were a bit pessimistic – air temperature this morning on arising was at the bottom limit of my external exercise range and up a bit by the time I had laved and attired my corpus so I was off to park for constitutional.

First of all, I was pleased I didn’t assay yesterday. By the time I finished my rounds of the trail my face was quite uncomfortable. And my efforts to muffle the lower part of my face only resulted in discomfort and eyeglass fogging, which given the sad state of the smoothness of the trail paving, would have sent me to hospital shortly.

But otherwise the experience was most enjoyable. Nature was about. The noisome canine of Friday was absent, or, at least silent, and I had occasion to actually think.

My thoughts were on the matter of entropy in language, Amerikan English in particular. Even that has entropy since most of the humans resident on the American continents speak Spanish, or at least American variants thereof. Also Portugese, Fremch, and Canadian English which seems rather akin to British (?) English to Amerikans but more like Amerikan English to the English. Or so I am assured by both Canadians and English humans.

This musing began as I considered that I had attired myself with cloths. or in an entropic sense, clothed myself. Of course cloth is a noun while clothe is a verb but they seem to have the same root since both are associated with a substance. The Oxford English Dictionary is rather unhelpful on the matter, merely blaming the mess on the Scandinavians. 

Of course, I was concerned that the cloths I clothed myself in be appropriate although in a thermodynamic rather than an appearance sense. Hence more entropy.

Also, I came to reflect on the differences (and entropy) of the words wear and ware. I was wear(ing) clothes and the clothes are wear so the word can be both noun and verb, another entropic form, and is a homonym of ware hence a third entropic form. Ware, of course, is similar, meaning either a metal utensil or a warning of danger. These seem to have a common root since the production of metal objects normally requires a considerable increase of their heat (temperature) even as far as a phase change and hence of considerable potential for damaging humans.

This, of course, brought me to the term “boo-boo”, which is not in my dictionary, but indicates either a minor superficial damage to a human or the deplorable mental state of an adult human miscommunicating with a human infant who has trivially been damaged. I believe it also indicates a form of error which is effectively identical to the latter.

Hence realizing the extent of my facial discomfort, I returned to Castellum SCP to increase my own quantity of heat.

One thought on “Word States

  1. Since you posted this in “Nerd Humor,” here is a quote from Jules Renerd – I mean Renard: “Words should be only the clothes, carefully custom made to fit the thought.”
    Not particularly funny, but it seems tailored to your post.

Comments are closed.