Stupidity in Alabama

Yes, I know that is a hideously redundant title. Alabama is pretty much a synonym for stupidity. Even in Nawth Alibam’s Shining City on the Hill. Where there are more STEMs than in the rest of the state combined.

Last evening I saw a serial interview with some objective ( blatant prevarication that) beef people, like the head of the cattleman’s association and a perfesser from Alabama Pollytechnic Institut. All, including the news readers, totally misrepresenting the news.

The World Health Organization (with the horrible acronym WHO) has classified PROCESSED meat as carcinogenic.[Link] They state that if you eat one wiener a day you increase your lifetime probability of cancer by 0.18.

From 0.05 to 0.06.

They have also classified (essentially) all meat as potentially carcinogenic. That word is STEM talk for causes cancer. Potentially means maybe.

I know that last paragraph was down talking but then I live in Alibam and a lot of people here need the down talking. I apologize to my colleagues who live in Alibam who definitely DO NOT need the down talking.

The good news is that none of the folks interviewed on the electromagnetic audio-visual receiver actually denied the action. After all it’s a classification and not a statement, per se. But they did say they thought Alibamians had good sense and would keep eating meat in great quantity. And yes, that last statement is indeed contradictory but a lot of folks in Alibam won’t get that contradiction.

I have to admit that I don’t eat wieners very often. Only when FD SCP wants baked beans with weiners. And then I buy the organic ones with low metal content and no preservatives. Minimum processing. Maybe twice a year.

But I do like salami. Comes of going to graduate schule. I eat it maybe four times a year.

But I don’t expect others to do as I do. That’s their responsibility.

Besides you gonna die anyway. So not eating meat isn’t gonna keep you alive.

But if you are going to eat a lot of processed meats, do kill yourself off before you reproduce.

