Good Words

Two day. Not bad. Gym sparse and one of the podcasts, an episode of Guardian Science interviewing Carlo Raveli (sp?) about his outreach book was excellent, mostly because of one statement by Raveli:

“Learning occurs in spite of School.”

Similar to Tyson’s sentiments but still congruent with my own experiences and hypotheses.

On a similar azimuth, I ran across an article [Link] entitled “Don’t let the Nobel prize fool you. Economics is not a science”. In particular, the second part is accurate. Economics is not a science. The best thing that I can say about economics is that it doesn’t tell us it’s a science like political science or (maybe) computer science or social science.

I won;t go much further except that my conjecture is that economics is a con game. That’s why it gets along so well with banks and governments.

