Toxic Trousers

One day. Mundane. And schule is sessioning so the Internets will be less burdened. The gym was slightly up on educationalists but their noise level seems to scale as N^2 so the annoyance was moderate. And not many weight bouncers. The podcast, an episode of the CBC’s “Best of Ideas” about the funeral business was outright disgusting. Can we direct religionist terrorists to strike there?

This led to consideration of whether we are living too long. I am increasingly amenable to this conjecture. Too many of our problems are caused by too many old people who will not rid society of themselves. I remember reading a science fiction novel on this in my youth and the mental whackedness seemed distant and impossible. How naive I was.

Also to consideration of funerals. Very EXTRO things. In fact the whole funeral business is disgustingly EXTRO. Which sadly makes sense. INTROs are much more sensible about old meat.

Speaking of old meat I am also rather down on the current trend to coat trousers (and shirts?) with noxious chemicals and proclaim them “wrinkle free” and “no iron”. Does anyone other than insecure women iron any more? FD SCP irons cloth all the time but that’s a making not a wearing thing. She had to beat the fabric into submission or some such.

Anyway I have purchased – unknowing – wrinkle free trousers from both the Maine Guide Store and Dirt’s Boundary and both of them have made my lower extremities break out in nasty rash and sores. And no refund shy of litigation. Caveat Emptor! I will probably wait for a toxic rubbish pickup to dispose of them I fear that burning them will destroy the ozone layer or worse. And I am not about to stash them in a charity collection bin. 

They have quite a nice feel to them and are well constructed but if one maintains contact for more than five minutes or so a horrid burning sensation ensues and things go downhill from there. Perhaps these are popular with penitent catholics, the ones who purchase all of the hair shirts? 

Selah. Now is time to avoid using the roads for a couple of hours until the panic of starting morning is past. And then again this afternoon when the rotational parents descend again from their psychotic olympus.

I wonder how many of those children have been bought new schule pants that are treated with these toxic chemicals? I know that the weeks prior to schule were a time for my parents to decide what new clothes I should have. My opinion was irrelevant. And some of the trousers were noxious then too. 

