Flag Flop

I am beginning to wonder if the Rainbow coalition hasn’t swapped intelligence for spectrum. As I drove to and from Nawth Alibam’s Shining City of the Hill today I counted over two dozen Confederate battle flags in pickup trucks and home flag poles. Last week I counted zero.

Zero.

The reason for the change is obvious. The crackers have crawled out of their barrels and now the nawth of Alibam, and I suspect elsewhere in the hinterland, is doubly polluted with absence of intelligence.

In college I can recall riotous violence between those who supported the Vietnam speed bump and those who thought Dow was the epitome of evil. Dow was unharmed in the riots but lots of students went to hospital, jail, and Vietnam after they were kicked out of college for being stupid.

Are we at it again? Why is it that tolerance can’t be equally practiced by all? 

