Saturn’s Rings are Bumpy

Our discontent has returned. When I arose at 0415 – yes, I slept in; it’s Saturn day after all – the heat pump temperature sensor told me the external air temperature was 32 degF. And now at 0541, the Arab CCR weather station informs me the air temperature is 30 degF. 

So no constitutional in the park. I had to make do with a spin on the stationary recumbent. And I continued to listen to that episode of “The Pen Addict”. Diversion primarily. Cannot say that I am taken by a heated discussion of orange inks. Not that I dispute anyone’s use of them. In fact, I definitely don’t don’t contest it. They are more than welcome to my share. The furthest afield I go is red ink for editing and grading. And that tends to be fill the pen, do the work, and flush the pen. Carefully and thoroughly. My taste in ink color runs to dark blue through the so-called blue-black, which isn’t. Black that is. Black ink tends to be gummy. Makes a nasty mess if one doesn’t over-maintain the pen. Which is another source of problem. 

But this put me in mind of a couple of articles I had seen and offered some insight. First, an article [Link] entitled “Linux users alarmed over Windows 10 lockout”. The article is about how MegaHard has once more shown their grasping greed by implementing strong lock-out in Winder X under the guise of security. I hate to tell the author, who is apparently at least a bit of a MegaHard hack, that rather than being alarmed I am pleased. This will push a lot of mugwump users, those undecided between staying Winders serf or becoming a free citizen over the fence. And the ones who stay on the MegaHard are the ones we don’t want. The last thing the Linux community needs is a host of OS parasites.

Take that Canonical!

Let us face it. Winders serves a very useful function as the OS for the computationally impaired, the computer cripples, as it were, to steal an inappropriate paraphrase from that Agriculture secretary of years gone by. As a society we don’t object to industries that build products to make life bearable, even easier, for those with disabilities, do we? So why not for the acomputate? 

Further, this is a clear indication that MegaHard continues to run scared and its ‘make nice’ with Linux is maskarovka. From what I can tell WX is at best slightly less of a failure than WAte. And there are lots of better answers than a dual boot system. Although if you do have to dual boot the solution suggested by the author is good if it doesn’t trash the box. How deliberately setting that up helps MegaHard isn’t clear other than reign-of-fear.

I favor two such solutions. The first is to buy a WX tablet. They’re going to be almost given away since no one wants them and Android (and Fruit) control the slab marketplace. Then you can get a laptop with just Linux on it and either run W in a virtual box or not at all and move files to the tablet via stick. The alternate, which I practice is to hang onto that old WXP laptop for the W programs (program in my case) that is necessary and use the Linux box for all else. 

Yes, I hope MegaHard is giving themselves a lesson in floor painting. Or is it coffin painting?

