Art and Current

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! No, the air temperature isn’t that low, it’s just that there was a wind and my heat capacity starved corpus couldn’t take a full constitutional. So I stopped one lap short and fretted until the misting cleared on my eyeglasses. I knew things were marginal when I robed myself but I went anyway because the worst constitutional is better than the best stationary bike ride.

In some ways still better than yesterday. At least I didn’t have to exchange wet clothings for dry. But there is still a bit of shiver to my bones. Not that I am not a bit happier than in past days, which seems strange since next week is marathon dental week when I have to visit two different dentists.

Perhaps the exhilaration is due to the news [Link] that room temperature superconductivity has been achieved. Maybe? I can recall when John Bardeen and company got the Nobel for superconductivity. And John asking the President of the U if that meant he got a second free (didn’t have to pay for) parking place. Showed what was important. No prizes, but certainly relief from nasty, mind destroying, bureaucratic trivia. I sometimes conjecture that civilization is likely going to be the cause of the extinction of humanity.

And the first "art" has been discovered. [Link] At least until some older is found. But this is an incised sea shell that is 0.5 MY old. Yep. Mage-year! And it wasn’t marked up by homo sapiens. No, homo erectus did the deed. Which sorta indicates that art is way easier than science. The ranking of politics is still out, but my guess it will ultimately be ranked with miscegenation and genocide. Not that either of those really make any sense, but then neither does politics.

That’s enough. Going back to enjoying the feeling because with the holidays onrushing I know that feeling won’t last long.

