Modern Sadism

A moderate morning. Dihydrogen oxide fall is predicted for the whole week out, at least sporadically. I caught it on the last lap of my constitutional, Only moderately soaked. And it did reduce the heat in the atmosphere a bit.

Since it is week out I suppose I should do a bit of tab ‘hawgin’. So first off, the Boston Globe, courtesy of IO9, has discovered something that I have been commenting on since before the blog. [Link] That is, that we are producing too many irrelevant Ph. D.s. I shan’t review the horrible journalism but I will comment that it seems to epitomize the state of journalism in Amerika that it took them a generation to find what we have been talking about in the nerd community on the subject. And after something of order twenty-five years this is what they consider news?

Sadly, this is not a solitary event. last night I heard the chief news reader on national news program declare that the Texas Ebola patient had been released from that hospital emergency room. When did I first comment on this based on a web article? And this schmuck has the chutzpah to declare this to be BREAKING news? Is this stupidity, laziness, or corporate manipulation? Or a mixture?

While we’re on this azimuth, I ran across a Register article [Link] entitled “No one wants iOS 8 because it’s for NERDS – dev”. I was bemused and not minutely astounded. What is up with Apple? Last week I saw a bit on FaceScroll where they were quoted as saying that their users were too stupid to fix the ShellShock defect, and now they say that their users are too boggish to even want to update their OS? This confirms a lot of what I have always hypothesized about Apple slaves users but for the corporation to boast about their users’ incompetence so openly? Is this an anti-intellectual thing? Or is Apple successful only for its sadism? The latter makes more sense based on my own experiences with their hardware and software. Evidently where MegaHard is venial Apple is depraved.

On that note I am going to go out on the aft porch to sit and listen to the fall. Perhaps that will cheer me up.

