Fashion or Function?

Across this cartoon: [Link]

I came. Which led me to a question I have been entertaining for a couple of months: why a smartwatch?

Minor complications: (1) everything a smart watch can do is done by your smone except it is uncomfortable to wear it on your wrist; (2) a smatch is in addition to a smone, not instead of; and (3) a smatch is as or more expensive than a GOOD watch. Pray note here that GOOD means my criteria and not those of a designer nor journalist nor pseudo-celebrity.

So far as I can tell, the only function of a smatch is to advise you when you need to extract your smone from your pocket. Assuming you carry your smone in a pocket.

I do not. I carry my smone in a holster on my belt. In winter it is hard to get to the phone because of jacketage and it is always hard to get to when in a motorcar because of the beltage. Hence if I am alone in vehicle I deposit the smone on the passenger seat, at least until it is projected onto the floor at the first under-prepared stop. 

The problem is the my watch is also covered by jacketage and I try not to look away from the roadway while motoring, especially in places like Huntsville where kamikaze and stupid are synonyms for drivers. 

Waiting is. 

