Linux needs Fun?

Into week out and what I hope is the last run of warm weather. I hate to say hot since there is always heat, a fact that seem impenetrable to the minds of even many nerds. They persist in this cold and (misused) hot metaphor without realizing that is all it is.

The other day as I was motoring, I heard a rather similar bit on the satellite wireless in my motorcar, some comic (sic) was talking about a cousin who upon observing a new house with glass walls and extravagant inset ceiling lighting commented how ‘the place would benefit from all the lighting because all that glass would let in a lot of dark.’  Similarly, one of my colleagues, an otherwise rational electrical engineer, Total Momentum Squared, was inordinately enamored of a humor piece about light bulbs being “dark suckers”.

I also happened across a rather disappointing article, the link forwarded me by another colleague, Magnetic Inductance Force, [Link] entitled “What Linux really needs is more fun.” My colleague had berated the author, an evident hack whose commitment to Linux is purely mercenary, that Linux does not need fun clients (apps for the less sentient boggerate) since Linux itself is the fun source.

The author claims that the stuff in the Apple and Google stores – the latter incidentally, sorta Linux – a point either oblivious to, or scrupulously ignored by, the author – there is all sort of “fun” apps. Since I have an Android cellular telephone I have some familiarity with both the Amazon and Google app stores and I presume that the author is referring to the time wasting, mind wasting STERCUS apps that are the poo of both stores, complicating the search for pony. I find myself preferring to look first on F-Droid for my needs and wants.

I am again reminded of an advertisement on the electromagnetic audio-visual receiver lately from some pizza restaurant chain asserting that pizza is the Amerikan food of creativity. My first thought of this, every time I hear/see it, is that I had my first taste of pizza after I entered graduate schule, and did not eat pizza often until SCPdatter matured enough to add it to her repertoire of acceptable foodstuffs. It certainly is not connected with my creativity. I can associate none of either the discoveries I am proud of, or the ones that are named for me, with pizza. That does not mean I do not find it satisfying and enjoyable, just that the association with creativity is, for me, specious and spurious.

The same, in a negative sense, is the case with the assertion that Linux needs some fun. I was reminded of this forcefully and almost tearfully yesterday. I have to make use of one of the few, not MegaHard, Winders programs that I cannot find reasonable Linux substitutes for. So I dug out an old HP lapbox that used to be my close companion, all of week out and many evenings of week in, but is now only used when I have some nerd composing to do.

Since I use it seldom and it is a Winders box, a wrote off the first day of boot to catching up on update and virus downloads/installs and all manner of scans. The process was delayed by my punctuated attention and Winders demands to reboot NOW! But the disappointment dawned on day 2 when I had to wait about thirty minutes for the box to become usable after I turned it on. And when I did get to use it, it was pitifully slow compared to what I am used to now. I know that this is an old box with an old processor, but it is still sorely disappointing. It is hard to have fun on this box. It is not hard to have fun on the box I am using at the moment. It takes a couple of minutes to boot and reach a usable state. Short enough that I don;t wander away for a cup of coffee and a complete three course meal.

And Linux needs fun?

, , , , ,

