Readin’ and Writin’ and Sanity

Another night of passing storms. At least this time the emergency management people didn’t summon the county from their beds for an illusory, probably imaginary, tornado in the east end of the county and hence irrelevant to 0.99 of the population except for the summoning. The only good I have seen of this is a hiatus in the water wars among Alibam, Gawjah, and the Floridas.

The down side is continued (repeated?) flooding over on the nawth-west of the state. Having been flooded I can posit that it is a form of home invasion much worse than fire or wind destruction. If the house is gone, in whole or part, that can be seen and dealt with, at least by those who are rational and can transcend their hormonal blinders. But a house flooded still has a warped appearance of livibility even while being a nasty sickness to be endured. And its repair is a form of red queen futility that grates in its slowness.

Meanwhile, I read that medical research at Rush U (no, I never heard of it either) has determined that reading, writing, and doing cerebration puzzles slows the progress of senior dementia. [Link] The latter part has been known for some time and represents a great delusion for many seniors I know. They buy the puzzle books – the other kind of pulp fiction – with pages of rectangular arrays of letters and such that they search for words among. I fear I am unconvinced this is actual cerebration rather than some use of innate and ingrained pattern recognition at the semi-intuitive level.

More importantly, i suspect, is the reading and writing part. We do neither as much as our forebears, at least the literate ones. One of the strange paradoxes of life is that as a larger fraction of the population is “literate”, there are fewer books read, and those of a lesser composition, and fewer things written. It cannot be explained just by a dilution of the standard of “literacy”.

This also seems to indicate to me a rather troubling liklihood, that with GEN Y reading almost no books and writing only gibble notes that we may expect that generation to display dementia even more rapidly than GEN X. Certainly that would explain much about their behavior?

More immediately I am concerned for my own mens sana. For once I can consider the great backlog of books to-be-read positively rather than as the choking space cancer FD SCP considers it. And I can rationalize all those games of mah jong and solitaire. Of course, as those who know me will attest, I have been bonkers since an early age and probably the womb.

, , , ,

